Life expectancy at birth
79.0 years2024 · 78.4 in 2023
Coverage, costs & outcomes · United States
2025 · Percent of people · annual
2024 · Nominal dollars per person · annual
2024 · Percent of GDP · annual
2024 · Years · annual
Coverage: 2025 · Spending and mortality: 2024. These sources report on different schedules. The uninsured rate covers people with no insurance at any point in the year; it does not count every temporary gap. Census estimates 26.7 million people were uninsured in 2025. The change from 2024 was not statistically significant at the 90% confidence level.
Major events & context · A curated selection, including uncertain effects. Milestone dates do not establish that an event caused a change in health.
Colors show the latest recorded status. A bill passed by only one chamber remains pending; “issued” does not necessarily mean in effect.
Move across the chart to inspect the nearest observation, or focus the chart and use the arrow keys. Use the Chart selector to switch measures; dates, events and action filters stay in place.
14 of 14 reviewed actions shown · 12 date markers.
17 major events shown separately from health readings. Hover to explore; click to pin. Press Escape to clear.
Each point represents a calendar year and is placed at December 31 for alignment. Lines connect annual observations, not monthly estimates. Health coverage history starts in 2013, spending in 2000 and life expectancy in 2019. The uninsured line breaks at the 2017 processing change, the 2019 survey caution and the 2024 population-control revision. Recent actions can occur after the latest observation.
| Period | Value | Save | 90% margin of error |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 7.9% | ±0.2 pp | |
| 2024 | 8.0% | ±0.2 pp | |
| 2023 | 8.0% | ±0.2 pp | |
| 2022 | 7.9% | ±0.2 pp | |
| 2021 | 8.3% | ±0.2 pp | |
| 2020 | 8.6% | ±0.2 pp |
21 curated milestones since 2010 cover insurance coverage, patient costs, public-health emergencies, mental-health services, court decisions and rural care. Sources reviewed through 2026-09-15. This is a selection, not a complete history; routine administrative updates, individual state changes and every intermediate court or legislative step are not included.
Each event links to official evidence and explains whether its marker is an announcement, effective date, court decision or program milestone. Coverage and patient-cost figures appear only when a reviewed official source supports the amount, population, period and comparison. Historical estimates and benefit limits are labeled separately from reported results. Shared or overlapping estimates must not be added together. No verified estimate does not mean zero effect. A policy’s stated aim is not a measured result. Annual readings cannot show an immediate response to a single event.
Policy milestones are shown separately from the reviewed government-action collections and do not add to their counts. The same legislation may appear at its introduction date in the action records and its enactment date among major events. Dates filter both; action type, status and search filter government records only.
Insurance is one part of access. Cost can still delay treatment, and some adults lack a regular place to seek care.
2025 · Adults ages 18 and older
95% confidence interval: 6.6–7.5%
2025 · Adults ages 18 and older
95% confidence interval: 5.7–6.5%
2025 · Adults ages 18 and older
95% confidence interval: 11.3–12.4%
Annual observations · Hover or focus the chart and use arrow keys. Vertical marks show 95% confidence intervals.
2025: 7% · 95% confidence interval 6.6%–7.5%
| Year | Estimate | 95% confidence interval |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 7% | 6.6%–7.5% |
| 2024 | 8.6% | 8.2%–9% |
| 2023 | 7.2% | 6.8%–7.6% |
| 2022 | 7% | 6.6%–7.4% |
| 2021 | 7.1% | 6.8%–7.5% |
| 2020 | 7.5% | 7.1%–8% |
Final NHIS estimates, 2019–2025 · U.S. civilian noninstitutionalized adults ages 18 and older. These are survey-weighted percentages, not counts of visits. Cost questions cover the 12 months before each interview; the usual-place question describes the respondent’s regular source of care. The indicators overlap and cannot be summed.
Lower percentages indicate fewer reported barriers on these measures. Small differences may reflect sampling uncertainty; no significance test is implied. The 2020 change in interview methods can affect comparisons. The usual-place measure excludes emergency rooms, unlike some other published “usual source” measures. Its confidence interval is calculated by complementing the published endpoints.
Checked 2026-09-15. Final 2025 estimates supersede the earlier preliminary release.
Employer-plan costs show what maintaining coverage can mean for a household. These figures describe private-sector workers enrolled in employer-sponsored insurance; they do not represent every U.S. household.
2024 · Nominal dollars per year
$23,938 in 2023 · 2.5% change
2024 · Nominal dollars per year
$6,889 in 2023 · 4.7% change
2024 · Nominal dollars per year
$3,733 in 2023 · 8.8% change
29.4% of the average premium comes from the employee contribution. The remaining $17,324 is the employer portion, calculated from the two published averages.
Annual observations · Hover or focus the chart and use arrow keys.
2024: 7,216 dollars
| Year | Estimate |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 7,216 dollars |
| 2023 | 6,889 dollars |
| 2022 | 6,492 dollars |
| 2021 | 6,174 dollars |
| 2020 | 5,978 dollars |
AHRQ MEPS-IC, 2008–2024 · Annual averages, not medians or quotes for a specific plan. Dollar changes include inflation. Multi-year comparisons show total change, not annualized growth. The history range is independent of the comparison cards.
Family coverage excludes the survey’s separate employee-plus-one category; when multiple family rates exist, employers report a family-of-four rate. Premiums and contributions cover enrolled employees; deductibles cover enrollees in plans with a deductible. Do not add these averages into an estimated household bill. Differences displayed here are descriptive, not significance tests.
Source release: December 2025 · Checked 2026-09-15.
Coverage can come from work, a purchased plan or a public program. Insurance reduces exposure to large medical bills, but having a plan does not guarantee affordable care or an available provider.
| Coverage type | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Employer or union | 180.7M | 53.5% |
| Medicare | 67.9M | 20.1% |
| Medicaid | 57.8M | 17.1% |
| Direct purchase | 35.5M | 10.5% |
| TRICARE | 9.3M | 2.8% |
| VA / CHAMPVA | 4.2M | 1.2% |
Shares are calculated from Census’s rounded population counts. People may appear in multiple categories. Bars run from 0 to 100%.
| Group | Uninsured | 90% margin of error |
|---|---|---|
| Under 19 | 5.8% | ±0.4 pp |
| 19–25 | 14.5% | ±0.8 pp |
| 26–34 | 13.3% | ±0.6 pp |
| 35–44 | 10.8% | ±0.4 pp |
| 45–64 | 8.6% | ±0.4 pp |
| 65 and older | 0.9% | ±0.1 pp |
Each rate uses the population of that age group. Bars use the same 0–30% scale.
| Group | Uninsured | 90% margin of error |
|---|---|---|
| Below the poverty threshold | 23.6% | ±1.2 pp |
| 100–399% of the poverty threshold | 16.8% | ±0.6 pp |
| 400% or more of the poverty threshold | 4.3% | ±0.3 pp |
Adults ages 19–64 in the poverty universe; each rate uses its own income group. These are not tax brackets or Medicaid eligibility thresholds. Bars use the same 0–30% scale.
Source: Census · 2025 coverage tables 1, 3 and 7 ↗. Coverage is measured over a year; it is not current enrollment.
Compare the services purchased with the programs that pay for them. These are two views of the same national spending total.
$5,278.6B total in 2024 · Nominal dollars · +$353.3B compared with 2023
| Category | Spending | Share of total | Dollar change | Percent change |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital care | $1,634.7B | 31.0% | +$133.6B | +8.9% |
| Physician & clinical services | $1,109.7B | 21.0% | +$82.8B | +8.1% |
| Retail prescription drugs | $467.0B | 8.8% | +$34.1B | +7.9% |
| Other health, residential & personal care | $320.5B | 6.1% | +$26.8B | +9.1% |
| Nonmedical insurance expenses | $306.0B | 5.8% | −$7.4B | -2.4% |
| Investment | $238.7B | 4.5% | +$5.3B | +2.3% |
| Nursing facilities & retirement communities | $219.9B | 4.2% | +$14.9B | +7.3% |
| Dental services | $189.2B | 3.6% | +$11.7B | +6.6% |
| Other professional services | $184.9B | 3.5% | +$18.0B | +10.8% |
| Home health care | $169.4B | 3.2% | +$15.8B | +10.3% |
| Government public health | $157.6B | 3.0% | −$0.4B | -0.3% |
| Other nondurable medical products | $128.7B | 2.4% | +$5.4B | +4.4% |
| Durable medical equipment | $86.4B | 1.6% | +$4.5B | +5.5% |
| Government administration | $66.1B | 1.3% | +$8.4B | +14.6% |
All rows are shown. Each tab adds to total spending apart from rounding; do not add tabs together. Bars share a 0–100% scale. Dollars are not inflation-adjusted, and the per-person headline is not a household bill. Out-of-pocket payments exclude premiums. CMS · Historical tables 1–3 ↗
Coverage and spending describe access and resources. Mortality adds a separate view of outcomes, influenced by diseases, injuries and living conditions as well as healthcare.
2024 · 78.4 in 2023
2024 · per 100,000 standard population
↓ 3.8% from 2023
2024 · per 1,000 live births
Spending can increase because more people receive care, treatments improve or prices rise. Less spending can reflect efficiency or forgone care. Read it alongside coverage and outcomes.
People with the same coverage can face different deductibles, provider networks and local access. An uninsured rate does not measure medical debt, wait times or whether people delay needed care.
The 2025 coverage survey and 2024 spending and mortality data describe different years. Their proximity on this page is not evidence that one caused another.
CDC · 2024 mortality tables ↗. Infant mortality is converted from the report’s rate per 100,000 live births to a rate per 1,000.
Counts show the size of the loss. Age-adjusted rates help compare mortality over time while holding the population’s age distribution constant. A cause’s share shows how much of total mortality it represents; it does not measure its effect on life expectancy.
3,072,666 deaths from all causes in 2024 · Final U.S. resident data.
| Underlying cause | Deaths | Share | Age-adjusted rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heart disease | 683,491 | 22.2% | 157.6 |
| Cancer | 619,876 | 20.2% | 139.4 |
| Unintentional injuries | 197,449 | 6.4% | 53.3 |
| Stroke | 166,852 | 5.4% | 38.6 |
| Chronic lower respiratory disease | 145,643 | 4.7% | 32.4 |
| Alzheimer disease | 116,022 | 3.8% | 27.1 |
| Diabetes | 94,445 | 3.1% | 21.7 |
| Kidney disease | 55,081 | 1.8% | 12.6 |
| Chronic liver disease and cirrhosis | 52,274 | 1.7% | 12.7 |
| Suicide | 48,824 | 1.6% | 13.7 |
| All other causes | 892,709 | 29.1% | Not published |
Annual observations · Hover or focus the chart and use arrow keys.
2024: 722.1 per 100,000
| Year | Estimate |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 722.1 per 100,000 |
| 2023 | 750.5 per 100,000 |
| 2022 | 798.8 per 100,000 |
| 2021 | 879.7 per 100,000 |
| 2020 | 835.4 per 100,000 |
Final annual observations cover 1999–2024, the full detailed ICD-10 period currently available in CDC WONDER. The causes are ranked by 2024 counts, not reranked for each selected year or by age-adjusted rates. “All other causes” is the residual; percentages may not total 100 because of rounding.
Years before 1999 use older cause classifications and are not mixed into this comparable ICD-10 series. Newer provisional estimates are published separately and may be revised.
Insurance does not guarantee a nearby clinician. HRSA designates shortages for geographic areas, specific populations and facilities. These measures describe designated shortages, not all unmet care needs.
| Discipline / location | Designations | Population | Need met | Additional practitioners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Primary care National report total | 9,003 | 108,566,500 | 47.43% | 18,541 |
| Dental care National report total | 7,951 | 76,757,184 | 33.6% | 12,760 |
| Mental health National report total | 7,109 | 157,149,246 | 26.53% | 7,825 |
Compare “need met” within a discipline; primary care, dental care and mental health use different designation thresholds. National report totals include territories and other jurisdictions beyond the 50 states and D.C. Blank source cells appear as “Not reported,” not zero. Facility populations and provider measures have exclusions detailed in the report’s endnotes.
Quarterly snapshot checked 2026-09-15. The linked report updates over time.
How common is mental illness, and how often do people receive treatment? Read these measures separately: each describes a different group of people.
2025 · U.S. civilian, noninstitutionalized adults age 18 and older. Serious mental illness is included within any mental illness; do not add the groups.
| Age group | Prevalence Among all adults in age group | Received treatment Among adults with selected illness | Perceived unmet need Among those with illness and no treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 18 or Older | 20.6% | 50.9% | 21.4% |
| 18 to 25 | 28.6% | 49.7% | 35.9% |
| 26 to 49 | 27.1% | 52.8% | 22.3% |
| 50 or Older | 12.8% | 48.1% | 10.7% |
Bars use 0–100% scales, but column denominators differ. “Not reported” indicates low precision; it is not zero. Small differences in estimates do not necessarily indicate a statistically meaningful difference.
Annual observations · Hover or focus the chart and use arrow keys.
2025: 20.6%
| Year | Estimate |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 20.6% |
| 2024 | 21.5% |
| 2023 | 20.9% |
| 2022 | 21.3% |
| 2021 | 21% |
2021–2025 prevalence history uses the updated model published with the 2025 release. Earlier estimates may differ from older publications. Treatment and unmet-need columns are 2025 snapshots and do not change when the history range changes.
These indicators show how common selected long-term conditions and risks are. People can appear in more than one group, so the percentages cannot be added into a total burden of illness.
| Indicator / location | Estimated share | 95% confidence interval |
|---|---|---|
| Diagnosed diabetes United States | 12.1% | 11.9%–12.3% |
| Obesity United States | 32.8% | 32.5%–33.1% |
| Current cigarette smoking United States | 11.4% | 11.2%–11.6% |
Annual observations · Hover or focus the chart and use arrow keys. Vertical marks show 95% confidence intervals.
2023: 12.1% · 95% confidence interval 11.9%–12.3%
| Year | Estimate | 95% confidence interval |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 12.1% | 11.9%–12.3% |
| 2022 | 12.1% | 11.9%–12.3% |
| 2021 | 11.4% | 11.2%–11.6% |
| 2020 | 11.1% | 10.9%–11.4% |
CDC Chronic Disease Indicators, BRFSS · Comparable series available here: 2019–2023, checked 2026-09-15. Newer survey releases may be available elsewhere. The table year is independent of the history range. Missing estimates are omitted from the chart and gaps are not connected. U.S. estimates are the published CDC series, not an average calculated from the displayed states.
These are self-reported survey measures for noninstitutionalized adults. They differ from clinical diagnoses, measured-height-and-weight surveys and other health surveys. State differences may reflect population composition, access to diagnosis and reporting as well as health conditions.
Timeline dates, action type, status and search apply to this list. Select a record to read its summary above.
These are the health-related records from the national education and health collection. Education-only actions are excluded. All three action filters are available; the current health subset contains no presidential actions. Coverage is selective, not every government action. Dates can be introduction or announcement dates; statuses are the latest recorded status, not necessarily current legal effect. Collection reviewed 2026-09-01.
Explore statements about health coverage, healthcare costs, access to care and public health from FactVote’s state candidate profiles. Compare candidates within each recorded race, with each person’s matching statements kept together. These are candidate and campaign statements, not verified outcomes.
We match specific health-related terms in retained candidate source text: coverage programs and health insurance, medical costs and prescription drugs, and healthcare access or public-health issues. Generic references to a healthy economy or working families do not match. When a statement matches multiple categories, coverage takes priority, then costs, then care. A mention can concern a state, community or group rather than the national rate.
Matching is automatic and does not establish a candidate’s stance, the accuracy of a claim, or an effect on health outcomes. Results are grouped by recorded race, then by candidate name. Within each candidate, health coverage mentions appear first. Only candidates with matching retained statements are shown; this is not a complete race roster. Repeated identical text for the same candidate is shown once. Coverage follows the existing state profiles and is not a complete record of all candidates or everything they have said. Review dates are not statement dates.
Explore how current members of Congress are sponsoring bills related to health coverage, access and costs. This uses the same reviewed bill records as the timeline, grouped by primary sponsor.
Protection from Obamacare Mandates and Congressional Equity Act This bill alters provisions relating to the requirement to maintain minimum essential health care coverage (i.e., the individual mandate), as well as provisions relating to health care coverage for certain executive branch and congressional employees. Specifically, the bill exempts individuals from the requirement to maintain minimum essential health care coverage if they reside in a county where fewer than two health insurers offer insurance on the health insurance exchange. Under current law, there is no penalty for failing to maintain minimum essential health care coverage. The bill also requires certain executive branch and congressional employees to participate in health insurance exchanges. Under current law, Members of Congress and their designated staff are required to obtain coverage through health insurance exchanges, rather than the Federal Employee Health Benefits (FEHB) Program. Current regulations authorize government contributions toward such coverage and require Members of Congress to designate which members of their staff are required to obtain coverage through an exchange. The bill requires all congressional staff, including employees of congressional committees and leadership offices, to obtain coverage through an exchange. The bill also prohibits Members of Congress from having the discretion to determine which of their employees are eligible to enroll through an exchange. Further, the President, Vice President, and executive branch political appointees must also obtain coverage through exchanges, rather than FEHB. The government is prohibited from contributing to or subsidizing the health insurance coverage of the officials and employees subject to this requirement, including Members of Congress and their staff.
Health Coverage Choice Act This bill extends the maximum duration of short-term, limited-duration health insurance plans. The bill increases the maximum authorized initial term of such plans to a period that is less than 12 months (with a total duration of no more than 36 months, including renewals). Current regulations limit the initial term to no more than three months and the maximum coverage duration to no more than four months, including renewals or extensions.
Muhammad Ali American Boxing Revival Act of 2026 This bill authorizes the establishment of private-sector Unified Boxing Organizations (UBOs) and otherwise expands the regulatory framework for professional boxing. (See CRS Report IF12982 for an overview of the federal regulation of professional boxing in the United States.) Under the bill, UBOs may organize matches involving boxers contracted with the UBO and must comply with other regulations with respect to such matches (e.g., conduct matches under the authority of a state boxing commission). UBOs also operate alongside existing professional boxing organizations (e.g., World Boxing Council (WBC)). UBOs must meet certain additional requirements, for example the UBO must implement an anti-doping program that includes drug testing in advance of matches, boxers age 40 or older must receive supplemental physical examinations, each match must have at least two ambulances on site, and boxers must have access to equipment and facilities that are operated by the UBO for training and rehabilitation. The bill also expands the required health insurance coverage and minimum pay for all professional boxers. Further, the bill requires state boxing commissions to establish procedures to ensure that drug tests are administered for title matches and at random for all other matches.
Healthcare Freedom and Choice Act This bill nullifies a rule regarding short-term, limited-duration health insurance plans. The rule was promulgated by the Internal Revenue Service, Employee Benefits Security Administration, and Department of Health and Human Services; is titled Short-Term, Limited-Duration Insurance and Independent, Noncoordinated Excepted Benefits Coverage; and was published April 3, 2024. Short-term, limited-duration health insurance plans are plans that may only offer coverage for a limited amount of time and are exempt from the market requirements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (e.g., coverage of individuals with preexisting conditions). The rule limits the length of the initial contract period for such a plan to no more than three months and, taking into account any renewals or extensions, the maximum coverage period to no more than four months. The rule also includes within the maximum renewal period limitation a new plan sold by the same issuer, or any issuer that is a member of the same controlled group, to the same policyholder within a 12-month period. Regulations in effect prior to the rule this bill nullifies permitted short-term, limited-duration health insurance plans with an initial contract period of fewer than 12 months and a maximum coverage period of up to 36 months, including renewals and extensions.
TRICARE Fairness for National Guard and Reserve Retirees Act This bill aligns eligibility for TRICARE health coverage with the age at which personnel of the Retired Reserve (former National Guard and Reserve members) begin receiving retired pay. Specifically, personnel of the Retired Reserve who are not yet age 60 but are receiving their retirement pay may purchase TRICARE health coverage for retired military personnel, rather than the presently allowed TRICARE Retired Reserve. Under current law, Reserve Component personnel may retire below age 60, but not below 50, based on active duty performance.
Ensuring Access to Medicaid Buy-in Programs Act This bill removes certain age limitations for the Medicaid buy-in program for disabled, working individuals. Current law allows disabled, working individuals ages 16 to 64 whose income exceeds applicable income limits to buy into Medicaid at the option of the state. The bill allows those age 65 or over to also buy into Medicaid.
State Public Option Act This bill allows residents who are not already eligible for Medicaid and not concurrently enrolled in other health insurance coverage to buy into a state Medicaid plan beginning January 1, 2026, at the option of the state. State Medicaid programs may set premiums and cost-sharing requirements for such coverage in accordance with specified limitations. The bill also (1) provides the enhanced Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (i.e., federal matching rate) to every state that expands Medicaid coverage for individuals who are newly eligible under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, regardless of when such expansion takes place; and (2) requires state Medicaid programs to cover comprehensive sexual and reproductive health care services, including abortion services.
A primary sponsor introduces a bill. These counts exclude cosponsors and count each bill once per sponsor. A House bill and its Senate companion remain separate bills. Passing one chamber does not mean a bill became law.
Coverage is limited to the reviewed current-officeholder bills retained for this fact. “Current” reflects the source collection’s review, not a live check. Bill dates may be introduction dates. Counts do not measure policy effectiveness, support for a particular outcome, or an effect on health outcomes. The timeline’s date and action filters do not limit this section.
Coverage uses Census CPS ASEC, 2025 report tables 1, 3, 6 and 7, published September 15, 2026. It measures absence of insurance throughout the calendar year, rather than insurance status on the interview date. Do not directly compare it with ACS or NHIS uninsured rates. Coverage types overlap; people can use more than one during a year.
History uses the updated processing estimate for 2017. Census recommends caution with 2019 comparisons because of survey collection issues. Revised 2024 estimates use Vintage 2025 population controls. Margins of error describe 90% confidence intervals; displayed differences alone are not significance tests.
Spending uses CMS National Health Expenditure Accounts, 2024 historical release, tables 1–3. Dollar values are nominal. Totals include public and private spending, administration and investment. Payers and services are two views of the same dollars; they must not be added together. Shares and comparisons are calculated from rounded published amounts.
Life expectancy uses final CDC/NCHS mortality estimates for 2019–2024. It assumes the selected year’s death rates continue; it is not a forecast. Spending, insurance coverage and mortality measure different things and do not establish cause and effect.
Saved data checked 2026-09-15. This page uses published observations, not projections. Source revisions may change these figures. Major events are separately curated and do not increase action counts.